Darlington Statement: Joint consensus statement from the intersex community

Intersex Flag

The Darlington Statement is a joint consensus statement by Australian and Aotearoa/New Zealand intersex organisations and independent advocates, in March 2017.

It sets out the priorities and calls by the intersex human rights movement in our countries, under six headings: a preamble, human rights and legal reform; health and wellbeing; peer support; allies; and education, awareness and employment.

Joint statement was developed by Australia and Aotearoa/New Zealand intersex community organisations and independent advocates, including:

  • Organisation Intersex International Australia (OIIAU)
  • Androgen Insensitivity Support Syndrome Support Group Australia (AISSGA)
  • Intersex Trust Aotearoa New Zealand (ITANZ)
  • Eve Black
  • Kylie Bond (AISSGA)
  • Tony Briffa (OIIAU/AISSGA)
  • Morgan Carpenter (OIIAU/Intersex Day Project)
  • Candice Cody (OIIAU)
  • Alex David (OIIAU)
  • Betsy Driver (Bodies Like Ours)
  • Carolyn Hannaford (AISSGA)
  • Eileen Harlow
  • Bonnie Hart (AISSGA)
  • Phoebe Hart (AISSGA)
  • Delia Leckey (ITANZ)
  • Steph Lum (OIIAU)
  • Mani Bruce Mitchell (ITANZ)
  • Elise Nyhuis (AISSGA)
  • Bronwyn O’Callaghan
  • Sandra Perrin (AISSGA)
  • Cody Smith (Tranz Australia)
  • Trace Williams (AISSGA)
  • Imogen Yang (Bladder Exstrophy, Epispadias, Cloacal Exstrophy, Hypospadias, Australian Community – BEECHAC)
  • Georgie Yovanovic


Access this resource

Resource details